Social Worker Political Action Committee (SWPAC)

As the political arm of the NASW Oregon Chapter, the Oregon Social Worker Political Action Committee (SWPAC) is committed to brining the voice of social work to the Oregon Legislature.  During election cycles, SWPAC conducts interviews with candidates and we find out where they stand on issues that we care about, such as mental health, health reform, funding for human services, revenue reform, civil rights, and criminal justice reform.

Through these efforts, SWPAC also eduates candidates about the social work profession, our values, and our priorities for the upcoming legislative session.

To get more involved with SWPAC, please contact or call the NASW Oregon Chapter office: at 503 452-8420

Committee Chair: Contact NASW Oregon Executive Director Delmar Stone at 503-452-8420 if you are interested in being a part of SWPAC.

Contact info:

Support Our Political Action Committee!

By pooling small contributions from social workers across the state, SWPAC is able to give modest, but significant, campaign assistance to targeted candidates who support social work issues.  To do that, SWPAC needs your help.

Donate now and get every cent back!   In Oregon, individuals can give up to a total of $50 per year (couples filing jointly $100) to political action committees, and get every cent back when they file their taxes.
Download/print form to donate by check

2012 SWPAC Endorsements
House Races:
Rep. Peter Buckley, HD 5: Ashland
Caddy McKeown, HD 9: Coos Bay, North Bend, Florence, Reedsport
David Gomberg, HD 10: Newport, Lincoln City
Rep. Val Hoyle, HD 14: West Eugene, Junction City, Cheshire, Alvadore
Rep. Sara Gelser, HD 16: Corvallis, Philomath
Rep. Betty Komp, HD 22: Woodburn, North Salem, Gervais, Brooks
Rep. Tobias Read, HD 27: Beaverton
Ben Unger, HD 29: Western Hillsboro, Cornelius, Forest Grove
Joe Gallegos, HD 30: Hillsboro
Carl Hosticka, HD 37: Tualatin, West Linn
Rep. Chris Garrett, HD 38: Lake Oswego, Southwest Portland
Rep. Carolyn Tomei, HD 41: Milwaukie
Rep. Tina Kotek, HD 44: North, Northeast Portland
Rep. Michael Dembrow, HD 45: NE Portland, Maywood Park, Parkrose
Rep. Alissa Keny-Guyer, HD 46: SE and NE Portland (Laurelhurst, Montavilla, Foster-Powell
Jessica Vega Pederson, HD 47: East Portland and mid county
Shemia Fagan, HD 51: Sunnyside, Damascus, Clackamas
Nathan Hovekamp, HD 54: Bend

Senate Races:
Rep. Arnie Roblan, SD 5: Coos Bay, North Bend, Reedsport, Florence, Newport, Lincoln City
Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, SD 17: NW Portland, Beaverton
Sen. Ginny Burdick, SD 18: Tigard, King City and parts of SW Portland
Sen. Chip Shields, SD 22: North and Northeast Portland
Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, SD 23: Portland
Sen. Laurie Monnes Anderson, SD 25: Gresham

Statewide Races:
Brad Avakian for Labor Commissioner
Kate Brown for Secretary of State
Ted Wheeler for Treasurer